Xeon Phi boot: getting rid of the single boot image and dependencies
authorReto Achermann <reto.achermann@inf.ethz.ch>
Thu, 25 Jun 2015 14:52:54 +0000 (16:52 +0200)
committerReto Achermann <reto.achermann@inf.ethz.ch>
Thu, 25 Jun 2015 15:11:38 +0000 (17:11 +0200)
commit4008c3c9e033cf462b5ef620f36feec428a6111c
tree6a23d9e3b9777970fb83e04acf124e7c2def8525
parentca104bce88effda7194e95c25841665d178082d7
Xeon Phi boot: getting rid of the single boot image and dependencies

Adapting the boot protocol of the Xeon Phi cards to dynamically
load the individual modules at run time rather than compile time.

The following sources can be used to load the modules
- in ramfs of host machine
- from a TFTP server (using the --tftp flag)
- from NFS (using the --nfs flag)

The modules to be loaded are specified in a supplied menu.lst file.
The parameter  --modlist can be used to specify that file.

The boot driver will handle the generation of the needed data structures
and headers when the card boots.

Signed-off-by: Reto Achermann <reto.achermann@inf.ethz.ch>
16 files changed:
hake/symbolic_targets.mk
include/xeon_phi/xeon_phi.h
kernel/arch/k1om/startup_arch.c
tools/weever/Hakefile
tools/weever/creator/Hakefile [deleted file]
tools/weever/creator/weever_creator.c [deleted file]
tools/weever/install.sh [deleted file]
tools/weever/loader.c
tools/weever/mbi.h [deleted file]
tools/weever/multiboot/Hakefile [deleted file]
tools/weever/multiboot/build_data_files.sh [deleted file]
tools/weever/multiboot/weever_multiboot.c [deleted file]
usr/drivers/xeon_phi/Hakefile
usr/drivers/xeon_phi/boot.c
usr/drivers/xeon_phi/main_host.c
usr/drivers/xeon_phi/xeon_phi_internal.h